Scientific Program Committee

The following people are members of the Scientific Program Committee for the 4th International One Health Congress & 6th Biennial Congress of the International Association for Ecology and Health

Prof Kerry Arabena

Kerry Arabena Headshot_smallProfessor Kerry Arabena has a Doctorate in Human Ecology and an extensive background in public health, administration, community development and research. Her work has made significant contributions across many states and territories in areas such as gender issues, social justice, human rights, access and equity, service provision, harm minimisation, and citizenship rights and responsibilities. Kerry is a descendant of the Meriam people of the Torres Strait and current Chair for Indigenous Health and Director of the Indigenous Health Equity Unit at the University of Melbourne.

Kerry has represented Australia in international forums on HIV/AIDS, and climate change. Her professional experience has seen her recognised as an Australian of the Year Finalist in 2010, recipient of the prestigious JG Crawford Prize for Academic Excellence at Australian National University in 2011, and a nomination in The bulletin magazine’s ‘Smart 100 Australians’ Health and Medical Research Category, in 2004.

A/Prof Robyn Alders AO

Robyn_August 2011_smallRobyn Alders is an Associate Professor and Principal Research Fellow with the Faculty of Veterinary Science within the University of Sydney. For over 20 years, she has worked closely with smallholder farmers in sub-Saharan Africa and SE Asia as a veterinarian, researcher and colleague, with an emphasis on the development of sustainable infectious disease control in animals in rural areas in support of food security and poverty alleviation. Robyn’s current research and development interests include domestic and global food and nutrition security, One Health/Ecohealth, gender equity and Science Communication. She leads the joint Charles Perkins Centre/Marie Bashir Institute “Healthy Food Systems: Nutrition*Diversity*Safety” Project Node within the University of Sydney.

In January 2011, Robyn was made an Officer of the Order of Australia for distinguished to veterinary science as a researcher and educator, to the maintenance of food security in developing countries through livestock
management and disease control programs. Other awards include: the 2002 Kesteven Medal, awarded by the Australian Veterinary Association and the Australian College of Veterinary Scientists in recognition of distinguished contributions to international veterinary science in the field of technical and scientific assistance to developing countries; the 2006 Belle Bruce Reid Medal, awarded by the University of Melbourne to outstanding women Veterinary Scientists; the University of Sydney 2011 Alumni Award for International Achievement; and the Crawford Fund 2014 Medal for continued contributions to international agricultural research and development.

Prof Soren Alexandersen

Soren Alexandersen_smallSoren Alexandersen is a Veterinary Pathologist, Virologist and Epidemiologist specialising in molecular pathogenesis, epidemiology and control of virus infections since 1982. He has worked at the NIH in Montana and at Iowa State University in the USA and has previously been Assistant and Associate Professor of Veterinary Pathology, Research Professor of Molecular Pathobiology and Professor and Chair of Veterinary Virology at the Veterinary and Agricultural University in Denmark. He was then Director of the Danish Veterinary Institute for Virus Research at the Island of Lindholm for 5 years before leaving for the Institute for Animal Health in Pirbright, England in 1999. At Pirbright he was Head of Experimental Epidemiology focussing on foot-and-mouth disease and swine vesicular disease. In August 2004 he returned to the Danish Veterinary Institute for Virus Research, Denmark, as Research Professor and Head of Section to work on serious OIE listed virus infections of livestock. In 2008 he became the Director of the Canadian Food Inspection Agency’s National Centre for Foreign Animal Disease (NCFAD) in Winnipeg, Canada and in July 2010 the Executive Director of the National Centres for Animal Disease (NCAD) including the NCFAD laboratory in Winnipeg and the Lethbridge Laboratory in Alberta. In October 2015 he joined Deakin University as a Professor and Director of the Geelong Centre for Emerging Infectious Diseases (GCEID), a collaboration including Deakin University, Barwon Health/University Hospital Geelong and the CSIRO Australian Animal Health Laboratory.
He has also been Adjunct Professor of Pathology and Exotic Virology at the Faculty of Life Sciences of the University of Copenhagen. He has worked and given invited lectures in most parts of the world and has published more than 130 international scientific papers. He holds a Doctor of Veterinary Medicine, a PhD in Veterinary Pathology and a DVSc in Molecular Virology from the Veterinary and Agricultural University in Denmark and is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Pathologists and a Member of the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons in the United Kingdom.

A/Prof Grant Blashki

The University of Melbourne, Australia

More Information Coming Soon…


Dr Simon Firestone

The University of Melbourne, Australia

More Information Coming Soon…

Dr Dominique Hes

The University of Melbourne, Australia

More Information Coming Soon…

Prof Pierre Horwitz

Edith Cowan University, Australia

More Information Coming Soon…

Dr Jonathan Kingsley

Jonathan Kingsley Photo_smallFor over 10 years Dr Jonathan Kingsley has worked in Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisations, government bodies, academic institutes and NGO’s across Australia in the public health and community development field. Jonathan views ecosystems central to human health and wellbeing and having the capacity to bridge health inequalities (the basis of his Masters, PhD and Visiting Scholar position at Cambridge University). Dr Kingsley has a strong track record in ecohealth that cut across sectors evidenced through his publications record, environmental and health awards, program management experience, membership on committees and regular presentation experience.

Prof Mark Stevenson

The University of Melbourne, Australia

More Information Coming Soon…

A/Prof Mardie Townsend

Deakin University, Australia

More Information Coming Soon…

Prof Maxine Whittaker

The University of Queensland, Australia

More Information Coming Soon…




Join our mailing list

Join our mailing list to be kept up to date with information on the 4th International One Health Congress & The 6th Biennal Congress of the International Association for Ecology and Health.

Sponsorship & Exhibition Expression of Interest

If you are interested in becoming a sponsor or exhibitor for OHEH 2016, please express your interest by clicking the link below.

Expression of Interest Form »

Key Dates

Registration Open:
Now Open
Author Registration Deadline:
26 August 2016
Early Bird Registration Deadline:
26 August 2016
Late Breaking Author Registration Deadline:
1 November 2016
Congress Dates:
3 – 7 December 2016